(Salted) Dark chocolate truffle cookies

I decided to try my hand at making some cookies I saw over on How Sweet it Is.

These turned out very delicious (though I only ended up salting about half of them, because I was in a hurry to get them into the oven every time I was baking a new batch) and they didn’t spread as much as I expected them to. I also experimented with using my Silpat baking mat for the first time. It was great! I didn’t have any wax paper, so I just laid this down on my baking sheet and baked the cookies on it. This made for great, easy clean-up. You just wash the mat afterward and everything is clean (minus the bowls and utensils you used for prep!) These are really rich, dark chocolate cookies and I loved them. I did not choose to dip them in chocolate and sprinkles, but I would have if I’d had more time and I might the next time I make these!
AS A WARNING, YOU WILL NEED TO LET THE DOUGH SIT FOR 4 HOURS TO OVERNIGHT BEFORE BAKING.

RECIPE FROM HOW SWEET IT IS, adapted from THIS. Makes approx 30 cookies.

Ingredients:

6 tablespoons unsalted butter
4 ounces bittersweet (mine was 60%) chocolate, chopped
2 cups dark chocolate chips
3 large eggs
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons dark chocolate/dutch process cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
coarse sea salt for sprinkling

Recipe:

1. Melt your butter, bittersweet chocolate and HALF OF THE chocolate chips in a bowl. I microwaved mine in 40 second increments, stirring when necessary, until completely melted. Allow mixture to cool.

butter is healthy, not quite a whole stick

chocolate deliciousness

fancy chocolate bar

baking chocolate broken up

goopy chips

smooth and melty

2. In a small bowl, combine the flour, cocoa powder, salt and baking powder. Set aside.

cocoa-y

flour-y

with salt and baking powder

all mixed up

3. In the bowl of an electric mixer (if you’re lucky enough to have one!) or in a regular large bowl, add your sugar and eggs and beat/whisk on high/quickly for about two minutes or until light and fluffy.

sugars

light and fluffy

4. Add vanilla and melted butter/chocolate mix, and stir until combined  (1-2 minutes.)

vanillas

vanilla mixed in

stirred in the chocolate

5. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and your whisk or mixer attachment, and add the mixed dry ingredients. Stir in with spatula until fully combined.

combining the flour

6. Fold in remaining chocolate chips.

chocolate chips for days

chocolate chips: WITH OUR POWERS COMBINED

7. Cover with plastic wrap and place in fridge for a minimum of 4 hours, to a maximum of overnight.

8. Remove from fridge when ready to bake. Line ungreased baking sheet with parchment paper or Silpat. Wet hands and roll the dough between hands into 1 inch dough balls, placed 2 inches apart on baking sheet. This is when you can slightly salt them if you want. Bake for 9-10 minutes (in my experience, 10-12.) If baking in batches (which, lets face it with 30 cookies that’s pretty likely) place the dough back in the fridge, covered, between batches. When you remove the cookies, you can salt them again lightly if you want to. I did not. Be careful when removing these, you may want to let them cool a little, because they may be gooey. I placed them on a baking rack to cool, which did not take long.

six dough balls on my Silpat

with salt

cookies are delicious

9. Enjoy your cookies (WITH MILK!) These are great with milk because they’re so rich.

baking rack

Post by: Melissa
Photos by: Melissa

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 227 other followers

