Chicken Teriyaki

Here’s my attempt at chicken teriyaki. First attempt, so don’t judge too harshly! As an introduction to this post, let me say that chicken teriyaki is possibly my favorite food. I have 2 favorite restaurants to get it from, but I am very far from them, so I attempted to make some on my own. Let me very honestly admit that I couldn’t get it perfect, but that will not stop me from trying, and if you haven’t had the amazingness that I’ve experienced, this teriyaki may satisfy you just as much. Here is a picture of what I was attempting:

so perfect

This is the chicken and gyoza from Teriyaki Garden. I love this place. But enough about the inspiration. I used this recipe .

Ingredients:

Sauce (would also be good as a marinade)
1/3 cup mirin
2 Tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce
1 Tablespoon sugar

Chicken:
~1 lb. boneless chicken breast or thigh (If using breast, as I did, pound out with meat tenderizer or pan to flatten prior to using. Mine was also skinless, but chicken with skin would be crispier.)
Salt and pepper
Oil

Recipe:

1. Add all sauce ingredients to a small sauce pan, stir, and let come to a boil.

pan ingredients

2. Upon boiling, reduce heat to simmer, and simmer until ingredients have thickened into a sauce. Remove from heat.

3. Heat large pan with oil to medium/high heat. Salt and pepper your chicken.

here's my chicken

4. Add chicken to pan. You’ll want to space it better than I did mine. I adjusted it after the picture.

chicken in the pan

5. Allow to cook ~3-4 minutes, browning on one side. Then flip.

so nicely browned

6. Once chicken has browned on both sides, remove from pan.

all cooked up

7. Slice chicken into strips and pour sauce over it. Serve with your choice of sides (I would’ve chosen rice and gyoza if available) and enjoy!

lovely teriyaki sauce

ready to eat!

Notes for recipe adjustments: Grilling may get your chicken closer to the texture I was trying to achieve, but I do not have a grill. The sauce was almost spot on,  I couldn’t tell if it was different because of the ingredients or because of the chicken not being similar enough itself. Chicken thighs may be more tender and produce a better result for the chicken overall, so I will try this in the future. This chicken was a bit drier than the restaurant chicken, and I will experiment with 1. chicken thighs and 2. grilling, when possible in the future.

Post and photos by: Melissa


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 226 other followers

