Broiled cheesy, creamy chicken enchiladas

It has been awhile since I made enchiladas. My friend told me about putting sour cream in them to make the meat really tender. I thought to add this too, but to make it into a mixture so the ingredients would be the same throughout. They turned out delicious and I know they will only get better as they sit in the fridge. At all points during this I couldn’t stop testing the food, it was delicious.

I also moved into a new kitchen and the oven has some problems, for instance it only can broil which I discovered during this process.

Ingredients:
1 pound of chicken
Red Cayenne Pepper
Ground coriander
2 cans enchilada sauce
2 cups of sour cream
1 can refried black beans
Shredded cheese (I used an Italian blend)
Tortillas to fill
Vegetable oil

Recipe:
Step 1.
Add the spices and some lemon juice to marinade the chicken for at least 2 hours and then begin cooking.

Step 2. Cook chicken and add pepper and cook until done.

Step 3. Chop or shred chicken. The smaller the better so it will blend with the rest of the filling.

Step 4. Put the filling (cheese, beans, chicken and sour cream) together in a bowl and stir.

Step 5. Heat enchilada sauce in a pan that can fit the tortillas in it and heat oil in another pan of the same size. When heated put a tortilla in the oil until it bends then put in the sauce and flip on both sides until drenched in the sauce.

Step 6. Put the tortilla on a baking sheet and put 2 or 3 spoons of the filling on one side of the tortilla.

Step 7.  Repeat with the rest of the filling and then use extra sauce by pouring over the top. Then add more cheese on top.

Step 8.  This is where my kitchen threw me a curveball that turned out to be for the better. I wanted to bake these for 15 minutes at 350 degrees, but instead my oven only has the broil setting working. So I noticed that I had broiled it and as a result it created a nice crunchy cheesy top.

My new kitchen, which I will get fixed so I can make a lot more dishes! It is smaller than my last place, but it feels nice and homey now that I am used to it.

Photos by Colin
Post by Colin

6 responses to “Broiled cheesy, creamy chicken enchiladas

Leave a Reply

