Caramel flan

Flan has been on my mind for awhile now and so have macaroons. I attempted to make flan before, but was not careful enough when putting it in the hot water bath and the mixture was flooded with water. Luckily flan is cheap to make and I was able to spend less than 7 dollars to get the ingredients.
My oven is fixed and I found it doesn’t cook evenly, so my flan got a little lumpy. It was still delicious though. One part was also slightly undercooked, so I cut it out. I will be trying this again in the future so I don’t have to order it for 5 dollars when I’m eating out.I used a recipe from tablespoon.

Ingredients:
1 cup sugar
1/3 cup water
1/2 tsp lemon juice
4 eggs
1 can of evaporated milk
half a can of condensed milk
1 tablespoon of vanilla extract

Before you do anything make sure you have something a pie pan can go in that is oven safe. Make sure water can go half way up the sides of the pie pan. I found two pie pans stacked worked well.
Recipe:
Step 1.
Put sugar and lemon juice in water and bring to slow boil. Put on medium heat until it boils and let it just sit there until it turns into caramel. Don’t touch it! Preheat oven to 325 degrees with water in a pan that goes half way up a pie pan.


Step 2. After it has turned a deep brown, pour it into a pie pan and let cool.

Step 3. Meanwhile put the milk products and the extract in a large bowl with the eggs and start whisking like crazy. Spoon out any chunky parts you can and keep beating for at least 10 minutes.

Step 4. Pour mixture on top of cooled caramel.

Step 5. It get’s tricky here. Put the mixture pie pan in the water bath in your oven, be careful not to spill or hurt yourself. Put foil with holes over the mixture to let steam out. As I said this is cheap enough to make so do not get discouraged. Bake for a hour and pull out of the oven and let rest for 2 hours.

Step 6. Put in fridge and let sit another 2 hours before serving. You will not see the bottom so do not worry about how it looks. You will have to flip the flan upside down to get it onto another plate.

As I said the oven bakes unevenly making strange lumps in the flan. It tasted great though and I am going to try this again many times until I can get it done how I want it. This was one of the harder things I have tried baking by myself.

Post by: Colin
Photos by: Colin

Leave a Reply

