Holiday Food: Yam fries & glazed Brussels sprouts

For the Holidays (Christmas specifically)

me in seattle over Winter Break

My family made some special foods. Kind of a spur of the moment thing.

First off, my mom made balsamic glazed Brussels sprouts. These are amazing. I will update this with the glaze recipe if she lets me know what it is…. but essentially you salt/pepper and bake the sprouts until they are a bit crispy. You can also cut them in half if you’d like.

far away

up close

And then you drizzle them with glaze. Which will get rather thick, so the drizzling is best done early before the hardened sauce makes it impossible.

saucy sauce

plated and served

In addition, I made yam fries. These were a first attempt and I have a few tips and tricks for you.

Firstly, use whole yams. If they are the same size/shape, all the better for uniform fries.

weird yam

Then, halve the yams and cut into fry shape. Tip 1: First, wash and DRY the yams so the fries won’t be soggy.

cut them up

Now cut them like this or smaller

If you cut them smaller than I did they will be crispier, which I think is desirable. I just didn’t know at the time. But anyway, lay them out after you salt/pepper them and drizzle them with olive oil and bake (or broil but be careful with that) until they are cooked and crisped to your liking. And enjoy!

salted and peppered

20121231-183420.jpg

Hope you had a happy holiday!

Post by: Melissa
Photos by: Melissa

Leave a Reply

