Day Trip: DeFuniak Springs, FL (houses & shopping)

As promised, here is the continuation of my trip! I had taken so many pictures I wanted to break this up a bit, in case you were only interested in one part, or didn’t have time for one massive post. It is also a bit difficult to organize this section, but I’ll start with the houses and move into the shopping, because there are a lot of houses to go through and I loved so many of them! I will try my best not to repeat any, unless I think they were amazing enough to warrant that. I had to take a few different ones of each house because that pesky sun and the trees kept making them completely un-see-able.

This one is probably my favorite house. I love the spire(turret?) and it’s absolutely beautiful with its trim and fencing. (I don’t know house terms, why should I, I just know this is gorgeous and I want to live here.)

and from the front

lovely

off white

storybook glen

columns (or pillars?)

stately from the side

more pillars

cute brick house, can't blow it down

This next house warrants a little bit of explanation, because it was absolutely amazing, first of all, and second because it was for sale by owner and they must be basically the nicest people ever because they have a drinking fountain outside for whoever is walking by to use at their discretion. You’ll see.

gorgeoooous

side-ish view

for sales

how sweet

in case you couldn't read

animals hiding in the bushes!

framed by trees

duplicated I know

pointy

brick-y

nice spire (tower?)

sweet gate

bricks again

big brick house (lovely)

cute chimney

yellow and proud

plants for privacy

orangey

This house had the cutest mailbox.

so cute

it's for letters

it was also for sale

this one was under construction

two decks

similar

trees and gate

Whew! That was a lot of houses. Even though this is a small town, this wasn’t all the houses in the area, but just some of my favorites. I hope you enjoyed seeing them! Now, onto the shops.

just a cute building

First, here’s Nook and Cranny, a shop of odds and ends and consignment shoes/clothes.

nook and cranny

door knobs

ram (astrology?)

red lamp

reminds me of the south

painting

birds

frame and boxes and things

delicate

I found the Herald!

And here’s the Big Store.

The Big Store

what the big store entails

so much pink!

ROOK (it's a game and my last name)

such a pretty sofa

bed frame

Jim Beam mirror

antique stove/oven

Shirley Temple

the huge piano

I also encountered the Little Big Store.

little big store

I also worked my nerve up to go into the health store. Up until that point, I hadn’t been in a shop where I was the only potential customer.

health store?

As far as a “food” store, I would not classify it as such. They did have a few food items, but the majority of the store was packed with supplements, vitamins and the like. I’m sure it’s a useful resource in the area as they carry many things exclusively for the area and promise satisfaction, but I didn’t find anything of particular interest (coming from a larger area) and this was the only store in which I was essentially ignored and not pleasantly greeted. Oh well!

I did not manage to get a picture of it, but I loved the local bookstore and purchased 6 items for only $11 from a great selection of new and (mostly) used books. That was probably my favorite shop in the area, but didn’t look like anything special from the outside. Looks can be deceiving, so when visiting a small town, be sure to just give things a try!

Looks like it’s time to go!

time to go! (I'm cheesy)

Maybe I’ll take the train!

maybe I'll take the train

Hope you enjoyed! Goodbye!

Post by: Melissa
Photos by: Melissa


Leave a Reply

