Baked sweet potato chips

I’m always interested in healthier alternatives to snack food, so when I came across this recipe on Minamalist Baker (yet another food blog I’m addicted to now) I knew I wanted to try it.

I was pretty satisfied with how these turned out. Overall I think I should have added a bit more salt and baked adjusted the baking time and temperature a little so some wouldn’t be overly-brown. But they were crispy and delicious, despite the look. These also would’ve been easier to make if I had a sharper knife to chop with, or a mandolin slicer. I halved the recipe for my experiment, but will reproduce the original for you here.

Ingredients:

2 large sweet potatoes
1-2 Tbsp olive oil
A pinch of salt (to taste)
(I also peppered mine, but don’t think it added much)

Recipe:

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Cut sweet potatoes thinly into rounds.

sweet potato

cut it up

2. Coat slices in olive oil.

3. Place on baking sheet and sprinkle with salt or desired seasonings. Make sure they are not touching.

waiting for baking

4. Bake for 1.5- 2 hours, flipping at least twice to ensure even cooking. I flipped these around 5 times because I get paranoid. I also took a few off the sheet earlier than others, because they were slightly smaller. Make your own judgments about your chips. Remove from sheet and cool on wire rack when golden brown and crisp.

crispy

5. Let cool, then enjoy! They’re a great snack and alternative to store-bought chips, and I would definitely make them again!

piled high

Post by: Melissa
Photos by: Melissa

Leave a Reply

