Another macaron recipe (raspberry buttercream)

Today I attempted another macaron recipe that I found through one of my favorite youtubers. Honestly, though, I need to work on my piping skills. I even bought a piping bag! I am just not great at it. A few of these looked really pretty (I thought) but I do not prefer this recipe to my last attempt, other than the way the cookies looked…

I baked these for 40 minutes, despite the fact that her recipe says 20 minutes, because last time some of my shells were hollow and that is likely due to undercooking. These didn’t burn, but I would say they were a little sharper/crunchier than I would have liked and while they were not hollow, they weren’t correctly chewy. Sigh. But, enjoy my illustrations and click on the recipe above if you’d like to see Entertaining With Beth’s recipe, which I followed (without the cream of tartar.) My food coloring also didn’t come out as pretty as I’d hoped and the cookies were essentially brown.

pretty meringue

cookies not piped well

the cookies

squiiiiish

nom nom

Some were really messed up since I piped them poorly… Il’l even show you that.

eek

That front one is a beast. But the top one is lovely. Anyway, they still taste good, but not as good as the ones from the last recipe (only difference is this one calls for more powdered sugar.) I would recommend following the last recipe, though these did turn out pretty.

Post and photos by: Melissa

Leave a Reply

